We invite you to enjoy the preserved opulence of America’s Gilded Age. The Mansion's, amazing gardens, luxurious interiors, carved wood details, marble fireplaces and magnificent grand staircase are only a few details to guarantee a stunning event at the Henderson House.
In 1901 Arthur Winship Clapp of E.H. Clapp Rubber Co. purchased the plot of land in Weston and hired Architects Coolidge, Shepley, Bulfinch and Abbot to build the house. Clapp lived in the mansion with his unmarried sister Antoinette until he died in 1907. Two years later Antoinette sold the house to Edward Russell Peirce, a Boston wool merchant.
Peirce used the house in the warmer months of spring, summer and fall and spent his winters in Pasadena California. He used the house for 16 years until it burned to the ground on January 1, 1925. After the fire Peirce hired the same architects to rebuild the house. Peirce spent a large sum of money remodeling the house and adding out buildings to the property. He lived in the house until his death in 1951.
The estate remained closed for about a decade under the ownership of Roger Ward Babson. Babson’s daughter, Edith Babson Mustard, sold the estate in 1960 to a group of Wellesley businessmen who divided the 325 acres into the Peirce Estates development.
In 1961 Ernest Henderson, president of the Sheraton Hotel Corporation and member of the Northeastern University Board of Trustees, purchased the house on behalf of Northeastern University. The house was renamed the Henderson House and renovated by Northeastern University. It reopened as a continuing education and conference center in 1962. In 1988 the Junior League of Boston held its annual decorators showcase in the house. Some of the aesthetic treatments from this event still remain.